Congratulations to our new HD-50 and State Executive Committee Members!


The OCDP County Executive Committee, by acclaim, has elected Phyllis Portie-Ascott to the OCDP State Executive Committee, and John Ferguson to the NC House District 50 Executive Committee.

Phyllis currently serves as Secretary, Northern Orange NAACP and Member, Orange County Schools Equity Task Force. Phyllis also studies Clinical Pastoral Education at Shaw University Divinity School and is a leader in the Northern Orange Black Voters’ Alliance.

John currently serves as 2nd Vice Chair, Orange County Democratic Party and as Member, Orange County State Executive Committee. John served as a Consultant with the NC Association of Educators for 15 years, and taught for 17 years in the Caswell County Public School system. John has also served as past Chair, Northern Orange Black Voters’ Alliance.